Conversion

So this weekend hasn’t gone the way I thought.  I woke up to no power yesterday.  I could not even make coffee.  I did something I never do — got immediately into the shower.  Showering first thing after waking up is uncomfortable for me for some reason.  But anyway.  We went out.  I needed coffee, and there was no reason to stay at home, especially since it was disgustingly hot outside and would soon be the same inside if the power didn’t come back on.  Power company gave an ETA of 1 PM on getting it back up.  Fuck that.  I’ve been in need of new clothes for a while, but I hate shopping for clothes.  Hate isn’t a strong enough word for how I feel about it, now that I consider it.  But having lost weight, most of my pants no longer fit properly, and having not bought new clothes in a long time, there were holes along the edges of the cuffs.  It was time, much as I hated it.  But I managed to find a couple pairs of pants fairly easily, selected the right size right from the start and was satisfied with the fit.  Huh.  I’m not sure that’s ever happened.  I usually get the size wrong or don’t like the fit or something.  But anyway.  That made yesterday a little off.

Today, I have to go to work.  With any luck, I won’t be there long, but I suspect that I’ll be at least a little unlucky.  We’ve converted to a new system, and I get to go in and test drive it.  I anticipate some issues.  I’ve done this kind of thing before.  Issues are going to be the norm.  The biggest issue?  Training.  On Friday, I finally got to show two of my coworkers some basic stuff.  ON FRIDAY.  And I still don’t know half of what I feel like I’m going to need to do my job now.  Sadly, neither does my boss.  He went into a meeting on Thursday with some two pages of questions we had and came out with a majority of the answers being don’t know or to be determined.  It baffles me that they would go ahead with such a major project with so many questions left unanswered and with so little training.  But then again, we’re lucky we got anything at all.  Our newest branches in SC got switched earlier this year with no training at all.  But oh well.  I just work there.  The next week, possibly the next several weeks, are going to be very interesting.

2 thoughts on “Conversion

    • Thanks! It was time to freshen things up a bit.

      It went fine. I got there about 12:50, left around 4:30. Some issues, of course, but it could have been worse! Monday will still be very, very interesting.

Leave a Reply

