One Fucking Paragraph

It was just one fucking paragraph, but it was a monumental stumbling block.  It was already written.  I just needed to type it, slightly alter it and move on.  For some reason, I had a very hard time doing that.  I decided, finally, just to put down whatever I had and go from there.  I needed a character to do something to another character.  It didn’t have to be a long scene; it was only a piece of the total action in that section after all.  But it needed to happen.  Honestly, it only needed to be one sentence — A comes out from behind the dumpster and stabs B.  I went into a bit more detail than that, but that’s all I had to do.  I still can’t figure out why I got so stuck on that one fucking paragraph.  Maybe it’s my dissatisfaction with the prior section.  Maybe it’s the tangled mess that comes afterwards.

Either way, I finally got past that and then some, having added a good 2000 words to that particular story as of a couple hours ago.  I may do more.

I’ve been slightly productive on other projects as well.  The mini-chapbook has been pretty well edited to within an inch of its life.  I put together a front cover for it and reformatted the Word doc.  Still lots of formatting to fiddle with on both parts, and I’m not in the mood to fight with Word or Photoshop or Lulu.

It’s been a lazy weekend spent in front of my laptop or reading.  Haven’t left the house, haven’t showered.  I’m slightly ripe, but so what.  No one’s sniffing.  Lots of sleeping, too, a result of sinus/migraine shit and hormone shit and wearing myself out with thinking.

And now, as I lack the energy to continue typing this crap or any crap, I’m migrating to my reading chair.

Leave a Reply

