National Poetry Writing Month

I meant to do this two weeks ago, but various outside forces conspired against me, not to mention my eternal laziness about blogging.  But.  All that aside, I’m doing this now.

April is National Poetry Month, a now fifteen year old tradition started by the American Academy of Poets.  Over at the Piker Press, we have various ways to celebrate, which include but are not limited to, increased activity in the poetry areas of the forum and a handful of Pikers blogging about their favorite poems.  Last year, after a very, very long dry spell of not writing poetry, I decided that I would write a poem a day for the entire month.  I write short poems.  This was a more than reasonable goal, and the result was Communication.

This year, I’m going to do the same.  30 poems in 30 days.  I don’t have a theme in mind, but there is a word that continues to bother me every time I think about this project, so I’m going to use that word as a starting point as see what happens.

The other thing I’d like to do is get other people writing poems in April, too, in the tradition of National Novel Writing Month.  I might go so far as to start a Facebook group and see what happens there.  But, for now, here are the ground rules:

Write 30 poems in 30 days.  I suppose you could write one really long poem, but for the sake of ease, 30 small poems in 30 days works out better.  This is really the only solid rule.  Everything else is whatever the poet wants.  My theme last year was something of an accident.  My “theme” this year may or may not be an actual theme.  We’ll see.  No theme is required, no style is overlooked.  Free verse, sonnets, limericks, whatever.  Rhymed, unrhymed, unmetered, it doesn’t matter.  30 poems, 30 days.

Like NaNoWriMo, the goal is simply the writing.  Poems need polish just like novels, so perfect, finished pieces are not expected here.  Getting the words down–getting the verses down–is what I want to see.  So they don’t have to be good.  They don’t have to ever be seen by anyone but you, your muse and your preferred method of transcribing thought.  At the end of the month, what  counts is that you have undertaken to write, and appreciate, poetry once a day every day.

Also, this post as composed in my head two weeks ago was far more coherent and informative.  But two weeks have elapsed, and I’m sick.  So you get a half-assed post because the other half of my ass that is my brain is simply not functioning at a high level right now.  But there it is!  My plan for April.  And maybe someone else’s plan as well.

5 thoughts on “National Poetry Writing Month

Leave a Reply

