NaNoWriMo Update

I had intended to blog weekly updates of my progress on my novel this month, but why waste the time blogging when I could be noveling?  Thus, the only updates have been on the NaNo site and occasionally on Twitter as I announce the bloating of my word count to a world who doesn’t care.  Well, fuck you, world!  I do care.

I love this story.  It’s been going really well.  It’s picking up the slack where I thought I might not have enough story, and I haven’t yet gone back to the one scene I wanted to make longer.  I just didn’t want to write a sex scene at work, so I cut it short.  Maybe I’ll do that tonight since it seems I’m not quite in the mood to move forward.  I have less than 10k words to go now.  I can afford to take the afternoon off if I want.  I’ll probably write more tonight.  Just right now, since the story took a turn I wasn’t quite ready for and since my sinuses are waging war, I’m not up for a long haul of writing.

The lack of planning this year has really helped.  Knowing the basics was enough.  Yes, this makes for a couple rough patches along the way, but I’ll worry about that later.  In January maybe.  This year has helped to remind me what I love about NaNoWriMo, and I think I will continue to have only sketchy thoughts about any future projects.  If I have ideas before October, I will work on them when I have them.  I won’t write down a bunch of ideas and expect to be able to revisit them with any enthusiasm.  While I can do that, it’s just not as much fun.  And ya know, the whole point of NaNoWriMo is having fun–the whole point of writing in general is having fun.  And it’s been a good long while since I’ve had fun with my writing.

All right, now.  Gonna go take some sinus medicine (shoulda done that hours ago), watch Supernatural and then probably read for a bit.  When I come back to writing, Sage is going to have to do something kind of stupid and then something kind of bad and then follow that with another stupid thing before someone finally is able to stop him.  Maybe.

Leave a Reply

