Ten Thousand Words in Four Days

Kids, don’t try this at home. No really. I’m a professional headcase. I know what I’m doing.

Years of experience and practice have taught me the best way to write the most words in the shortest amount of time. My fingers have muscles and reflexes that normal fingers just don’t have. I’m a natural night owl, so I can stay up long after I should have gone to bed and work in the silence of the small hours. I have an overabundance of stories being written, to be written and half written. For me, this is nothing.

But a small gang of Pikers use the long Labor Day weekend as a warm up exercise for National Novel Writing Month in November. The challenge is simple. Write ten thousand words between Friday and Monday. Any ten thousand will do. Blogs count. Poems probably count, although I don’t think any of us have tried that. In the spirit of NaNoWriMo, the point is to just write. No editing, no thinking. Write. Build those finger muscles.

This year, I divided the time between two projects. Rosetta Stone, which continues to grow and go in weird directions (how the hell did I end up with a character named Dragon? why was Baltimore a kingdom? why have all my plans for the third part now fallen to pieces?). I’ve added about 3500 words to Rosetta Stone. The other is Lacuna. This is my cheat — the story’s already written. I’m just typing. But it counts. I’m rewriting pieces of it pretty extensively, even pausing to do research and rename a couple of characters. It was important to opt for consistency in my mythologies and to do it at this stage rather than in the second draft. If I let the inconsistencies go that far, chances of them getting fixed grow slimmer. I’ve gotten down a little over 7600 words on that one for a total of 11,200 or so. And still a large chunk of today to go, but I’m stopping with that count. I’ve got other things I need to get done. Like laundry.

But I’m fairly pleased with what I’ve gotten down this weekend. I just wonder why I’m not this productive every weekend.

5 thoughts on “Ten Thousand Words in Four Days

  1. Heh, I did that last year during NaNoWriMo. Sorta had to when I fell behind like I did a few times.

    It takes a special type of crazy to be able to pull it off and enjoy, eh? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

